Hooping with the Hoyas

Georgetown power forward Michael Graham signed this Sports Illustrated cover.

Growing up in New York State and following college basketball in the 1980s meant you paid close attention to the Big East Conference.

The Big East, founded in 1979, was loaded with spectacularly competitive teams – from Georgetown (my personal favorite) to St. John’s to Syracuse to Villanova to Providence to Seton Hall and more.

Thanks to a contract with the relatively new television network ESPN, games between Big East rivals aired every few days during the basketball season.

In addition to superstar players, the Big East boasted some of the best and most charismatic coaches – such as Georgetown’s John Thompson, Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim of Syracuse and Lou Carnesecca of St. John’s.

As a teenager, I fell in love with Georgetown’s gray-and-blue uniforms, made even more popular by star Patrick Ewing’s choice to wear gray t-shirts underneath his jersey. And the Hoyas’ ferocious and physical style was exactly how I hoped to play.

So I’ve really enjoyed adding Georgetown autographs to my collection. I especially like the series of cards that highlights historical Georgetown stars.

Several players also have written nice notes about their playing days and thanked me for my fandom of the Hoyas.

I hope you’re continuing to enjoy the NCAA tournament.

Leave a comment