Cheering on the Celtics

The 1980s are largely considered the glory days of the National Basketball Association.

The Boston Celtics and the Los Angeles Lakers. Showtime. Larry vs. Magic. The Bad Boys of Detroit. The late-80s emergence of Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls.

It was a great time to be a fan.

As someone who lived basketball during those days – playing high school basketball and watching college ball and the NBA – I rooted hard for the Celtics.

I especially loved watching Boston’s frontcourt of Larry Bird, Robert Parish and Kevin McHale.

I both celebrated and cried during those years. Between 1980 and 1990, the Lakers won five championships and the Celtics won three. Both teams were always contenders and they went head-to-head for the title three times.

While I was drawn to the Celtics largely because of Bird’s clutch play, Parish’s rebounding and McHale’s grit, I also appreciated the Celtics’ incredible history.

The Boston Garden, where the Celtics played, signed by Ernie Barrett, Chris Ford, Frank Ramsey, Bob Cousy, Hank Finkel, Gary Phillips, John McCarthy and Gene Guarilia.

Overall, Boston has won 17 NBA titles and has featured many superstar players, including Bob Cousy, Frank Ramsey and Satch Sanders – all of whom I’m thrilled to have in my autograph collection.

One thought on “Cheering on the Celtics

Leave a comment